Pasco County Car Accident Lawyer
If you have been in a car accident in Pasco County, Florida, it is important to know what steps you should take after the incident has occured. Florida is a no-fault car insurance state, which means that regardless of who is at fault, a victim of a car accident would seek compensation for damage and injuries from their own insurance company first.
It is also important to understand what would make an injury case be considered outside of the no-fault laws and what limitations can be encountered. A Pasco County car accident lawyer can help. En Español.
What is No-Fault?
Simply, no-fault means that regardless of who is at fault, each person involved in the car accident will work through their own insurance, and coverage, to cover the cost of damage and injuries for their own vehicles and persons within each car.
As every driver is required to have state minimum insurance coverage, no person should need to worry about the type of coverage the other person involved in the accident has. However, someone may find themselves concerned if their medical expenses or income loss exceeds their coverage. For this reason, it is important to contact a car accident attorney in Pasco County right away.
No-Fault Exceptions in Pasco County
A person involved in a car accident may find that they can pursue a lawsuit with a car accident lawyer in Pasco County who specializes in car accidents. Some of the basic reasons a person may sue include:
- Permanent injury
- Permanent scarring
- Expenses exceeding standard insurance coverage
When a case brought before a judge, it will be determined how blame is assigned. A person who failed to stop at a stop sign may be assigned 75 percent of the responsibility for the accident, while the person who was hit may be assigned 25 percent of the responsibility.
An example of this may be that the stretch of road had a mile of clear visibility during the daytime, and it should have been clear to the driver that oncoming vehicle was going too fast to adequately stop at the stop sign. In this scenario, the damages amounted to $100,000. The defendant would be required to pay 75 percent of the total damages, or $75,000 to the plaintiff.
Lawsuit Limitations for Car Accidents
As with most cases, there is a statute of limitations for pursuing a car accident lawsuit in Pasco County. A person wishing to file a claim will have no more than four years from the date of the accident to do so.
In the case that you are still recovering three years after the accident, you should schedule a meeting with a car accident lawyer in Pasco County right away to begin the process of filing a lawsuit. Once four years have passed since the date of the accident, the claim cannot be brought to court, regardless of how strong the case is.
Contact An Attorney Today
If you have been in a car accident, it is always wise to consult a Pasco County car accident attorney. Even if you do not feel as though you have a strong case, a lawyer who specializes in car accident cases can see your claim in a different light.
An attorney who works with car accident cases every day understands what types of cases will manage to be seen by a judge, and which will simply be a waste of time for both you and the courts. Regardless, it never hurts to meet with a lawyer soon after you’ve been in a car accident.