Bradenton Car Accident Lawyer
Being involved in a car accident can cause a severe disruption to your daily routine and responsibilities. Without a vehicle, you may have difficulty finding a ride to work or taking your children to school. If you suffered an injury, you may have the addition of pain and discomfort impeding your normal obligations. If your car accident was caused by another person’s negligence, you may be able to receive compensation.
A seasoned personal injury attorney can assist in illustrating Florida’s comparative fault laws, filing a timely claim for damages, and reviewing whether the at-fault driver possessed sufficient coverage to pay for damages. A Bradenton car accident lawyer can help guide you throughout the entire the legal process.
Comparative Fault Laws in Bradenton
To obtain compensation following a car accident, a trier of fact may determine the degree of responsibility of each party involved and how much each party contributed to the accident. The assignment of fault is assessed on a percentage system, to equal a total of 100 percent. Under Fla Stat. § 768.81, even an injured party who is found to be five percent at-fault for an accident may still be able to obtain compensation, however, that party’s compensation may be reduced by 5 percent.
Fault is assigned to each party and a Bradenton car accident lawyer can explain how triers of fact typically determine percentages of fault and how any contribution by the injured party could affect recovery.
Deadline for Filing a Car Accident Claim
Typically, car accidents are the result of a driver failing to obey the rules of the road. Violation of these rules, upon demonstrable proof, may constitute an act of negligence. In bringing an action for negligence, the complaint may need to be filed with the court no later than four years after the date of the car accident per Fla. Stat. § 95.11. Failure to file the complaint within this deadline may result in the claim being time-barred, which could prohibit any potential recovery.
Minimum Coverage Laws
Under Fla. Stat. § 324.021 every driver in Florida must possess proof that they are financially responsible to pay $10,000 for any bodily injury resulting to one person from a vehicle crash and at least $20,000 for injury to two or more people in one crash. If the crash caused property damage, a motorist must have at least $10,000 for those damages.
If the operator was previously convicted of DUI, the coverage increases under Fla Stat. § 324.023 to $100,00 for a bodily injury suffered by one person in a vehicle crash and at least $300,00 for injury to two or more people in any one crash. A Bradenton car accident lawyer can help review all applicable requirements when determining whether the at-fault driver possessed sufficient coverage under Florida law.
Talking to a Bradenton Car Accident Attorney
If you suffered property damages, medical expenses, pain, inconvenience, or discomfort following a car accident, you may be able to recover for your damages. Even if you are worried that you may have somehow contributed to the accident, you still may be eligible for compensation. Contact a Bradenton car accident lawyer today to determine what insurance coverage may be available, make a timely claim, and review how contributory fault may impact your recovery.